The World Universities Debating Championships, also called ‘Worlds’ or WUDC, are an annual competition among debating societies of all universities in the world. It is designed to determine the best of the best in international English language debating. The tournament was first organised in 1982 and has grown from a relatively small event to a genuinely international event attracting competitors from over 250 universities representing over 90 countries.

During the competition students give speeches on current topics and try to convince judges of their stance. The World Universities Debating Championships take place in the British Parliamentary format, topics are announced 15 minutes before the debate begins and the rounds are contested by four teams: two representing the proposition and two representing the opposition. The sides are assigned randomly and students don’t always argue in line with their own opinion. After 9 preliminary rounds the top teams are selected to proceed to single-elimination rounds. Champions will be crowned in the Open, English as a Second Language (ESL) and English as a Foreign Language (EFL) category. Besides the main championships the tournament features a Masters and a public speaking competition.

Previous Hosts

2016 University of Macedonia, Greece
2015 UT Mara, Malaysia
2014 Rajalakshmi Engineering College, India
2013 Berlin Debating Union, Germany
2012 De La Salle (Manila), Philippines
2011 University of Botswana, Botswana
2010 Koç University, Turkey
2009 University College Cork, Ireland
2008 Assumption University, Thailand
2007 University of British Columbia, Canada
2006 University College Dublin, Ireland
2005 Multimedia University, Malaysia
2004 Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
2003 Stellenbosch University, South Africa
2002 University of Toronto Hart House, Canada
2001 Glasgow University Union, Scotland, United Kingdom
2000 University of Sydney, Australia
1999 Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines
1998 Deree College, Greece
1997 Stellenbosch University, South Africa
1996 University College Cork, Ireland
1995 Princeton University, United States of America
1994 University of Melbourne, Australia
1993 Oxford Union Society, England, United Kingdom
1992 Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
1991 University of Toronto Hart House, Canada
1990 Glasgow University Union, Scotland, United Kingdom
1989 Princeton University, United States of America
1988 Sydney University, Australia
1987 University College Dublin, Ireland
1986 Fordham University, New York, USA
1985 McGill University, Montreal, Canada
1984 Edinburgh University, Scotland, United Kingdom
1983 Princeton University, USA
1982 University of Toronto Hart House, Canada
1981 Glasgow University Union, Scotland, United Kingdom